top of page

Honduras...


We arrived in Honduras on March 1st 2018, not too late up to the border....as usual the fixers flock. It was here we met Maarten from Canada....he'd overtaken us earlier but now we found ourselves crossing the border together. He was riding a loop round and back to Canada but he would get to see much more of Honduras than us as we were just passing through.

The border went reasonably well, though we discovered as we left El Salvador that our details had not been processed properly when we entered that country. One of the officials was concerned for me as he hadn't realised I was with Chris....and made me promise not to give my documents to anybody......he couldn't understand why I wasn't in the system......hmmn….on entry to El Salvador we used a fixer and things went wrong.....

Thankfully he corrected everything and we moved on to enter Honduras and after a bit of messing around with photo copying we were finally in. Before saying our goodbyes to Maarten we all went for a cold drink together and I embarrassingly dropped my bike......well I don't really get embarrassed now....it just happens ..lol.....this time a large stone had got underneath my wheel as I turned to park and knocked me off balance......I was practically stationary.....several Honduran men rushed to my assistance and Maarten was a little nimbler jumping off his than Chris who hadn't seen me drop it as he was round the other side of a van.

And that was that.....a well deserved cold drink and off we all went. Our route through Honduras was very simple, mainly the CA1 and then we turned off onto the CA3. The roads were quite good, the main roads we were on were paved and workmen out making improvements everywhere. Have to say like much of Central America driving standards are how shall we say politely...a bit 'hap hazzard'. Not to worry as we weren't rushing we'd booked an overnight stay at a hotel just off the main road.

So strange though we were practically the only guests there, such a shame. I suppose some of it was down to the fact that Honduras had just come out of a time of political protests and people were starting to visit again. Thankfully we had not got caught up in any of that. The view out the back was quite surreal we hadn't expected that.....look at this.....piccie taken through the window....

Doesn't look real does it ???

A very uneventful evening spent checking paperwork for the next country and watching tv.....a bit like a night on the sofa at home...lol

So another short but sweet visit, everybody we've met here during this brief visit have been friendly and helpful, so many of them waving at us along the way.

Vaya Pues Honduras 😃

Where To Next?


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page